Austeja: viviendo en Madrid

Flag: United Kingdom on Apple iOS 13.3

On the streets something I am leaving

And something I’m collecting:

pieces of my life

coming from far away

Miguel Hernandez

I saw this poem on my third day in Madrid at the metro station. Days have passed and for me it is still the most accurate reflection of my relationship with the city. I feel that Madrid is so various that it is difficult to cover everything and I’m still trying to put all the pieces together. And here I am, describing what it is like to live my first month in Madrid when I’m a foreign volunteer who doesn’t speak Spanish (I’m trying). 

Madrid is big. There are almost 3,7 million inhabitants in Madrid, and this is more than there are people in my whole home country (Lithuania is small, I know). Although it seemed scary at first, even for a bit spatially disoriented person like me, somehow, it’s impossible not to get lost and the biggest challenge is what to occupy myself while going to work by the metro – the goal of improving my Spanish serves a lot in this matter. 

Madrid is colorful. I have a sensation that has its layers, its small pieces, and big spaces. It’s urban but with many green parks and mountains far away in the picture, feels like New York in Gran Via with all the big buildings, people, and loud nightlife (at least this is how I imagine New York), but it gets quieter when small shops fall asleep during the Siesta or at night in the park where the stars are very visible. It has a well-developed public transport system but just an hour away there are wild mountains of Cercedilla with many lonely paths outside civilization (it still belongs to the territory of Madrid!). Although I feel like an alien sometimes (not in a bad way way so far) when I’m not able to express myself properly in an environment where (almost) the only language I hear in the streets is Spanish, people are very talkative, friendly, and always happy to help – Madrid was never hostile for me.

I live in Vallecas which I don’t even know with what to compare – it’s the one and only. Vallecas is a district in the South of Madrid and for now it’s my home. It’s been a separate municipality till the 1950 and maybe that’s why it kept its authentical spirit until these days. It has a stadium with a football team which makes the locals very proud and La Vallekana Sound System – a music group from Vallecas singing about the district (I go jogging listening to their Welcome to Vallecas song). It’s not as crowded as the rest of the city, there’s more air to breath and parks to walk. Although some people say it’s a very dangerous neighborhood, for me it has something what makes it sweet and cozy – people walking their dogs and pigs (for real!) day and night, neighbors singing in the inner yard of the building, the owner of the fruit shop who puts an extra tomato in my bag, beautiful sunsets in the parks, and of course, incredible flatmates with whom every difficult meal works somehow, and every demanding day ends with a laugh.

I live here to volunteer. That’s why I spend every afternoon with children and youth with immigrant backgrounds. It gives me an opportunity to get to know more people of Madrid and to deliver something to their community – whether it’s playing, teaching English, helping with activities which include arts, sports, language competencies, social & emotional intelligence and so much more, or explaining fractions in Spanish – the latter is a mission impossible for me, but I’ll get there. 

There is no conclusion. I’m still writing my story here (9 months to go about which I’m very excited), and I hope to cover more pieces of this place that my eye can catch right now. Nor now and then, there will be no conclusion about living in Madrid – not from my perspective and probably not from any other.

🇪🇸

Por las calles voy dejando

Algo que voy recogiendo:

pedazos de vida mia

venidos desde muy lejos

  • Miguel Hernandez

Leí esta poesía durante mi tercer día en Madrid en la estación de metro. Han pasado muchos días, pero para mi sigue describiendo mi relación con la ciudad. Madrid tiene tantas cosas diferentes que es muy difícil poder describir todo y todavía estoy intentando resolver el puzzle. 

Aquí estoy, describiendo mi vida hasta ahora en madrid, siendo una voluntaria europea que no habla Español (lo estoy intentando). 

Madrid es grande.  En Madrid hay 3,7 millones de personas, que es más de toda la población de mi país (Lituania es pequeña, lo sé). Aunque parezca un poco aterrador al principio, de alguna forma es imposible perderse y mi desafío es cómo ocupar mi tiempo mientras estoy en el metro para ir a mi asociación, el estudio del español me ayuda mucho en esto. 

Madrid es colorada. Creo que tiene sus capas, sus trozos pequeños y grandes espacios. Es una metrópoli  pero con muchos espacios verdes, fuentes, parques. Me siento como en Nueva York cuando voy por Gran Vía, por todos los edificios, las personas y la vida nocturna (por lo menos así es como me imagino Nueva York) . Todo se vuelve más quieto y tranquilo cuando las pequeñas tiendas cierran durante la Siesta o cuando por la noche puedes ver muy bien las estrellas en el parque.  Madrid tiene una buena red de transporte público y a tan solo una hora hay las montañas de Cercedilla con muchas rutas lejanas de la ciudad (siguen siendo parte de la comunidad de Madrid!). Aunque me sienta como un extraterrestre (no de forma negativa) cuando no soy capaz de expresar bien lo que quiero, en situaciones donde solo se habla español, las personas son muy amables, abiertas y dispuestas a ayudarme – Madrid nunca ha sido hostil conmigo.  

Vivo en Vallecas , no se con que podría comparar el barrio de Vallecas, es uno y único.  Vallecas es un barrio del sur de Madrid y de momento es mi casa. Fue un municipio separado por muchos años, hasta el 1950 y por eso sigue manteniendo su espíritu auténtico. En Vallecas hay un estadio de fútbol que es el orgullo del barrio, también hay  La Vallekana Sound System, un grupo de música cuyas canciones hablan de Vallecas (me gusta correr por las calles escuchando la canción Welcome to Vallecas). En el barrio no hay tanta gente como en otras zonas de la ciudad, hay más aire y parques donde se puede pasear. Algunos dicen que es un barrio peligroso, pero para mi es un sitio acogedor donde hay personas paseando a los perros o cerdos (de verdad) durante todo el día, vecinos cantando en los patios de los edificios, el dueño de la frutería me pone un tomate más en la bolsa, los atardeceres son preciosos y sobre todo tengo dos compañeras de piso increíbles con las que siempre podemos conseguir comer algo rico y acabar el día sonriendo.  

Estoy viviendo aquí como voluntaria.  Esta es la razón por la que suelo pasar todas las tardes con chicxos y jóvenes. Me da la posibilidad de conocer mucho más sobre la gente de Madrid y al mismo tiempo aportar algo a la comunidad – jugando, enseñando inglés, ayudando con las actividades artísticas, deportivas, sociales y mucho más, a veces tengo que explicar las fracciones en español, esta última tarea es casi imposible para mi pero lo conseguiré pronto.

No hay una conclusión. Seguiré contando mi experiencia aquí, (tengo muchas ganas de vivir los próximos 9 meses en Madrid), y espero visitar y contar mucho más de la ciudad. 

Leave a comment